Click to Home
Find Us:
FacebookTwitter
Rainbow
Go To Search
Blog

AIC Legislative Blog

An up-to-date summary of key issues and decisions of importance to Idaho city officials before the Idaho Legislature.

Feb 04

Rep. Frank Henderson Announces His Retirement from Legislature

Posted on February 4, 2014 at 12:00 AM by Justin Ruen

Rep. Frank Henderson, R-Post Falls, announced last week that he will not seek a sixth term in the Idaho Legislature.

Continue Reading...

Tag(s): Frank Henderson

Jan 30

Thanks for Making City Officials' Day at the Capitol a Success!

Posted on January 30, 2014 at 12:00 AM by Justin Ruen

Over 220 city officials joined nearly all of the 105 members of the Idaho Legislature and many state executive branch officials and department heads for the 2014 City Officials' Day at the Capitol.  

Continue Reading...

Jan 06

Otter's State of the State Address Lays out Priorities for 2014 Legislative Session

Posted on January 6, 2014 at 12:00 AM by Justin Ruen

As the 2014 Idaho Legislature convened in Boise on Monday, Governor C.L. "Butch" Otter delivered his annual State of the State and Budget Address. 

Continue Reading...

Oct 22

AIC Provides Input to Legislative Interim Committee on Public Defense Reform

Posted on October 22, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Leon Duce

Reforming Idaho's public defense system has received considerable attention this year in light of threatened legal challenges that await if the state fails to address its fragmented and underfunded system of providing legal counsel to indigent criminal defendants.

Continue Reading...

Mar 27

Personal Property Tax Bill Passes Senate by Unanimous Vote

Posted on March 27, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Justin Ruen

Yesterday afternoon the Senate passed the AIC-supported personal property tax bill, House Bill 315, by a unanimous vote. The bill now goes to Governor Otter.

Continue Reading...

Mar 22

Senate Local Govt. and Tax Committee Unanimously Approves Personal Property Tax Bill

Posted on March 22, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Justin Ruen

The Senate Local Government & Taxation Committee voted unanimously yesterday to approve the AIC-sponsored personal property tax bill, House Bill 315. The bill is expected to be up for floor vote in the Senate on Monday or Tuesday of next week. Thanks again to all the city officials who testified at the hearings on this bill, and contacted legislators in support of HB 315.

Continue Reading...

Mar 19

HB 315 passes the floor 67-2-1

Posted on March 19, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Leon Duce

Today the House voted to pass HB 315. The bill will now move to the Senate for consideration. 
Mar 19

House will debate HB 315 today.

Posted on March 19, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Leon Duce

An announcement was made on the House Floor this morning that HB 315 will be voted on this afternoon when they meet again at 3:30 p.m. 
Mar 19

AIC Supports House Bill 315 on Personal Property Tax

Posted on March 19, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Leon Duce

URGENT ACTION REQUEST: Contact Your Legislators in Support of House Bill 315 on Personal Property Tax

The House Revenue & Taxation Committee voted unanimously to approve AIC-sponsored personal property tax legislation after a brief hearing this morning. House Bill 315 now heads to the House floor. We ask city officials to contact their local legislators as soon as possible to show their support for this bill.

Continue Reading...

Mar 18

New Personal Property Tax Bill

Posted on March 18, 2013 at 12:00 AM by Leon Duce

This afternoon, the House Ways & Means Committee introduced a new version of personal property tax legislation supported by the Association of Idaho Cities, the Idaho Association of Counties, the Idaho School Board Association and the Idaho Association of School Administrators. House Bill 315 will be up for hearing tomorrow morning at 7:30 a.m. in the House Revenue & Taxation Committee.

House Bill 315 is basically the same as HB 272 with the following exceptions:

The de minimis exemption is increased from $1,500 to $3,000 per item purchased after January 1, 2013, and language is added to better define "acquisition cost" and prevent gaming the system through multiple purchases, purchase of components, etc. Lost revenue from the de minimis exemption is not replaced.

The $100,000 per taxpayer, per county exemption effective January 1, 2013 is broadened to include operating property.

Taxpayers with less than $100,000 in personal property need only apply for the exemption every five years. A uniform application will be developed by the State Tax Commission. County Assessors will mail the taxpayer's application and inventory from the prior year, making reporting much easier.

The amount of replacement money received by each local government is fixed at the 2013 level and will not change going forward.

House Bill 315 strikes the right balance among these important considerations.

• Providing personal property tax relief in a fiscally responsible way.

• Allowing the Legislature to expand the scope of the exemption in the future as permitted by economic growth.

• Fully exempting 89 percent of taxpayers from paying personal property taxes.

• Providing replacement revenue prevents shifting tax burden onto homeowners.

• Reducing the administrative burden on businesses: all items under $3,000 would no longer have to be tracked and reported, which will streamline the reporting process considerably. Taxpayers with less than $100,000 in personal property will only have to certify their property for the exemption every five years.

• Protecting schools, law enforcement, fire protection, street maintenance and other essential local services.

City officials may contact members of the House Revenue & Taxation Committee and their local legislators and respectfully express their support for House Bill 315. The members of the House Revenue & Taxation Committee are listed below.

Rep. Gary Collins, Chair: gcollins@house.idaho.gov
Rep. JoAn Wood, Vice Chair: jawood@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Lenore Hardy Barrett: lbarrett@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Mike Moyle: mmoyle@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Dell Raybould: draybould@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Lawerence Denney: ldenney@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Neil Anderson: nanderson@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Robert Anderst: randerst@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Thomas Dayley: tdayley@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Stephen Hartgen: shartgen@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Clark Kauffman: ckauffman@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Mark Patterson: mpatterson@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Janet Trujillo: jtrujillo@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Grant Burgoyne: gburgoyne@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Mat Erpelding: merpelding@house.idaho.gov
Rep. Carolyn Meline: cmeline@house.idaho.gov

You can phone legislators at the Legislative Information Center at (208) 332-1000.

You can also fax a letter to the Legislative Information Center at (208) 334-5397 and ask that it be distributed to one or more Representatives—faxes must have your name and address to be processed.

You may also email Representatives and Senators using the Legislature's website.